Research Prioritization Task Force


The Action Alliance’s Research Prioritization Task Force (RPTF) was initiated in November 2010 and comprised of representatives from 11 organizations, serving both public and private sectors in research, advocacy, and practice. 

The RPTF embraced a set of core values and operating principles as they engaged in the following activities: conducting a review of public and private research portfolios; performing a targeted literature review; statistically simulating the effects of potential interventions to reduce morbidity and mortality; and gathering stakeholder input through repeated surveys.


To date, the RPTF has completed the following projects:

Released in 2014, the RPTF's Prioritized Research Agenda outlines the research areas that show the most promise in helping to reduce the rates of suicide attempts and deaths in the next 5-10 years, if optimally implemented. The Agenda can be used by various stakeholders to help further the suicide research field and to help save lives. To learn how you can use the Agenda, see "I Am A..." menu below and click on your corresponding audience group.

To view all RPTF resources, click menu below.

  • Phillip Satow (Private Sector Co-Lead), Representative, National Council for Suicide Prevention; Chair of the Board, The Jed Foundation
  • Thomas Insel, MD (Public Sector Co-Lead), Director, National Institute of Mental Health, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • Alan Berman, PhD, Executive Director, American Association of Suicidology
  • Mary Durham, PhD, Vice President, The Center for Health Research at Kaiser Permanente *
  • Saul Feldman, PhD, Chairman Emeritus, United Behavioral Health
  • Robert Gebbia, MA, Chief Executive Officer, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
  • David Grossman, MD, MPH, Medical Director, Preventive Care, Group Health Research Institute *
  • Michael Hogan, PhD, Independent Advisor and Consultant, Hogan Health Solutions LLC; (Formerly) Commissioner, New York State Office of Mental Health
  • Robin Ikeda, MD, MPH, Deputy Director, Office of Non-Communicable, Diseases, Injury and Environmental Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • Ira Katz, MD, PhD, Senior Consultant, Mental Health Program Evaluation, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Daniel Reidenberg, PsyD, Executive Director, Suicide Awareness Voices of Education
* Asterisk indicates former Task Force Members